Defining The Word Nerd/Geek: Industry Regulars Give Their Thoughts (Part 2)

Last time we asked comic book writers/artists, YouTubers, and other entertainment personalities what their thoughts on the words nerd/geek are. We were flooded with responses and had to split them up into parts. We shared the first batch here (Part 1), here’s part 2.

Michael and Laura Allred: Writer/Artist power couple team at AAA Pop, DC, Marvel, Dark Horse, Slave Labor Graphics, Tundra, Caliber, Epic, Oni Press and Image

Best Known For: Madman and X-Statix

left: Michael and Laura Allred right: Art Ops
left: Michael and Laura Allred right: Art Ops

1) What started you off in your field?

I drew comics my whole life. Always for fun. Just got lucky and eventually found I could make a living at it. Living the dream!

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

We regard it affectionately. Someone who is extraordinarily enthusiastic about pop culture while celebrating uniqueness.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

Yup!

You can follow the Allreds on Twitter (@AllredMD), Instagram (@allredmd),Facebook, and their website (www.aaapop.com)!

Pick up Art Ops from DC/Vertigo today! The story is great but the art alone is worth the price of admission! Purchase it online at:www.readdcentertainment.com


Chad Hardin: Artist at DC, BOOM, and Dark Horse

Best Known For: Harley Quinn

left: Chad Hardin right: Harley Quinn
left: Chad Hardin right: Harley Quinn

1) What started you off in your field?

Just a love of Comics that started when I was twelve and never really stopped; also a love of drawing that started when I was four and never stopped.

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

A Nerd is someone who is shunned because he is hyper intelligent. A Geek is someone who is shunned for their obsession with pop culture. Occasionally these things can co-exist like a love for Science Fiction, but Geeks can be stupid, Nerds can’t.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

I was in school and now I guess you could say I’m a comic nerd because I have specialized in comic art. But my studies in physics, astronomy, and math have fallen way off since I graduated from college. I can’t even help my daughter with her middle school math. So I’ve lost a lot of my nerdiness, but I am still a huge geek.

You can follow Chad on Facebook, Twitter (@ChadHardin), Instagram (@hardin_art), and his website (chadhardinart.com)!

To see Chad’s amazing take on Harley Quinn click the following link to purchase the comic online: www.readdcentertainment.com


Dan Fraga: Writer/Artist/Storyboard Artist/Director at Image, Marvel, Top Cow, and Aspen

Best Known For: The Hard Times of R.J. Berger

left: Dan Fraga right: The Grave
left: Dan Fraga right: The Grave

1) What started you off in your field?

I love storytelling in all forms. Animation and comics got me hooked. Unlimited possibilities live in those amazing formats.

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

Loving what you love and not giving a shit about people who judge you for your interests.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

Yes. Yes I am.

You can follow Dan on Instagram (@couchdoodles) and on Tumblr!

To read Dan’s amazing daily webcomic The Grave, click on the Tumblr link above!


Rags Morales: Artist at Valiant, Marvel, and DC

Best Known For: Hawkman and Identity Crisis

1) What started you off in your field?

Been a fan of comics since I was 5. Mostly for the art although I did enjoy many of the stories, as well as the syndicated tv shows and movies. After consistently showing an aptitude for drawing, and being encouraged by art teachers and my folks, I haven’t stopped drawing. I had an old friend who has known me and my family from when I was 5, and she told me I was the only friend of hers who became exactly what I wanted to be when I grew up.

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

Passion for something. No shame in passion.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

I’m nerdy for comics, art, sports, history and politics; so yeah, I’m a big ol’ nerd and have raised nerdy kids. It’s chic to be geek.

You can follow Rags on his Facebook, Twitter (@RagsMorales), Instagram (@ragsagainstthemachine), ragsagainstthemachine.net, ragsmorales.etsy.com, and at Comicartfans.com.

For information and bookings contact Jess at info@ragsagainstthemachine.net. His current project to be announced at a later date. Like his Facebook page for all future announcements.

Pick up the acclaimed mini-series Identity Crisis with some of the best art by Rags Morales at: www.readdcentertinment.com


Tim Seeley: Writer/Artist at DC, Image, Devil’s Due, and Dark Horse

Best Known For: Hack/Slash, Grayson, and Revival

left: Tim Seeley right: Revival
left: Tim Seeley right: Revival

1) What started you off in your field?

I think it was the Spider-Man shorts in the old Electric Company show.That lead me to the comics, and that was that.

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

I dunno…at this point I feel like that label doesn’t really mean anything. All I know is it’s a lot easier to be into sci-fi, fantasy, and comics now than it was when I was a kid.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

I guess? I certainly have liked nerdy stuff my whole life, but on the other hand, I’ve always had girlfriends and stuff…I dunno…I’ll let other people decide.

You can follow Tim on Twitter (@HackinTimSeeley) and his Blog!

Be sure to pick up Tim’s fantastic Revival series online at ComiXology!


Duncan Rouleau: Writer/Artist/TV Show Creator/Producer at Marvel, DC, Image, Dark Horse, Active Comics, New Line Cinema, and Paramount

Best Known For: Big Hero 6 and Ben 10

left: Duncan Rouleau right: The Nightmarist
left: Duncan Rouleau right: The Nightmarist

1) What started you off in your field?

Escape from reality.

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

Someone with a burning passion to know something more than others.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

Got my nerd card circa 1973!

You can follow Duncan on Twitter (@rouleau1) and his website Man of Action!

Be sure to pick up Duncan’s The Nightmarist which was optioned by Paramount Pictures! Available on Amazon!


David Hine: Writer/Artist at Fleetway, Atomeka, Image, DC, Marvel, Radical, and AfterShock

Best Known For: Silent War, Spawn, and The Bulletproof Coffin

left: David Hine right: Second Sight
left: David Hine right: Second Sight

1) What started you off in your field?

Just loving to read as a form of escape from the boredom of growing up in a small village in 1960s UK. My mind was blown by the first episode of Dr Who on the BBC and by the weekly comics my grandparents gave me, like The Eagle and The Ranger, which had science-fiction and fantasy strips. I got into science-fiction novels, particularly Ray Bradbury and Brian Aldiss. By the age of 7 I knew I wanted to be a writer. By the time I was 10 I knew I wanted to work in comics.

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

I have to be careful here. My son gives me a lot of crap when I confuse nerds with geeks. Nerds are totally academic and pedantic and straight (apparently), while geeks collect cool shit and know everything about their chosen subject – like everything. They can also be pedantic. Both geeks and nerds are easily offended, so I’m probably in trouble here.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

I have a blog and Facebook page and I tweet and occasionally post on tumblr. I love comics and movies. I collect lots of cool shit. And I mean a lot! My house is full of comics, books, magazines, DVDs, vinyl records, though I don’t really do the toys/action figures. I am probably more geek than nerd but I do wear glasses and read a lot.

You can follow David on Facebook, Twitter (@HineDavid), and his website (waitingfortrade.com). Click this LINK to check out his latest book Second Sight or click HERE to purchase it! You will not be disappointed!


 Mike Vasquez: Indie/Artist

Best Known For: Adventure Time stylized versions of popular characters

left: Mike Vasquez right: A piece of Godzilla art
left: Mike Vasquez right: A piece of Godzilla art

1) What started you off in your field?

I started doing my art full time after I had my first born. I realized that there weren’t made fun star wars designs for baby clothes. I started a Kickstarter called Lil’ Geeks that received such a huge response in such a short amount of time that it was shut down by a larger company for infringing on their IP. So I took that as a challenge and worked hard to find ways to make and produce art in the right channels and now I do it full time today and have worked for companies like LFL, Upper deck, Boom!, Topps, Cryptozoic and much more!

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

Honestly..I think a geek can be anyone who is passionate about something they love. There’s all kinds of geeks, anywhere from comics, movies, art, music and even sports. A fan who wears a hockey jersey, attends or watches every game and memorizes the stats for every player is not different than a fan of a comic character who wears the characters logo shirt, collects and keeps up with the comics that character is written in and knows all the details of that character. Both love what they love.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

I definitely consider myself one! I love tons of things and am openly passionate about my love for Kaiju and Godzilla!

You can find Mike Vasquez on Instagram (@mikegoesgeek) and his website (www.mikegoesgeek.com), and he’s also working on a Top Secret project right now so stay tuned!


Michael Hanaoka: Artist at Hooligan Comics

Best Known For: @$!% Superheroes and Tales of Terror

left: Michael Hanaoka right: Lobo v. Superman
left: Michael Hanaoka right: Lobo v. Superman

1) What started you off in your field?

What started it all for me was watching Godzilla movies and a show called a Kikaider when I was growing up. I loved the genre so much that I would sit there and draw pictures of every monster and hero. I then discovered comic books at around the age of 7 and fell in love instantly. It was this love for comics that inspired me to become an illustrator.

2) What do you think defines a nerd/geek?

I believe a nerd/geek is defined by their passion for the things they love. They are no different than individuals who live and breathe sports. Both are very passionate about the things they choose to follow.

3) Do you consider yourself one?

Oh hell yes! Especially for all things Godzilla and action figures!

You can follow Michael on Facebook, the Hooligan Comics FB page, and their Kickstarter Page.

Leave a Reply

